rag rug

rag rug

So far I have find the hardest thing to part with is baby clothes!  Every time I go throw those boxes I take a few items to give away and now I’m OK with the quantity we have; but when most of the clothes they wear is second hand, by the time it makes the third child, well, they are no good to be taken to the charity shop, but I also couldn’t bring myself to all those in the bin, so I kept them in a basket in hopes of finding a suitable project.

One day we went to the museum of rural life, and in the 50’s farmhouse there were two rag rugs. I started chatting with the volunteer there, and he told me that all you needed is an object  to get the stripes of fabric throw the hessian fabric, usually an old fashioned peg.

If I remember well, those rugs were made from potato sacks, since the big move  is only a few months away am in a kind of hurry,so I just went to my local fabric shop. I tried to use the pegs he said, but found it easier with a double pointed needle and that’s what I’m using. I’m enjoying the process more than I thought, every time I work on it I can’t help but to imagine it’s place in front of a wood burning stove because it’s so warm and thick (and the nights are cold!); it’s not the most beautiful rug, but it’s very satisfying to know that otherwise those clothes would end up in a landfill and instead they are being given another life.

Leave a Reply

