Why I want to move to Portugal / Porquê que eu quero ir para Portugal

Isle of Bute

Em Português, mais abaixo

English

Next year, we plan to move to Portugal. I wasn’t going to write on the blog about something that will not happen for a long time, but the other day I read a post that describe pretty much the lifestyle I’ve been yearning for a long time. That,  and a discussion I had with my dad, encouraged me to write this post now, besides, why not?

While this is a joint decision, I will talk about my reasons. Paul has his, of course, but I won’t speak for him.

We have been planning this move for many years, in fact, since we met ten years ago, we’ve talked about going to Portugal; But first we had to learn how to save…

I want to live closer to nature, with nature,  to use the sun as a source of energy, to plant and raise our food and live simply. You see, for all this years that we’ve been simplifying I have come to realize that I’m happier with less, not more.

Sure that is possible in the UK, many people do it. But for me, I would like to do all those things without feeling cold most of the time. I miss the warmth, I miss sitting outside, at night,  listening to the sounds of the night and looking at the stars (those are some of my favorite memories). I want my children to eat tomatoes, melons and watermelons off the plant, the way I did as a child. To pick lemons , oranges, figs and peaches off the tree, the way I did as a child. I want them to be free of time and space to explore and play. Again, that would be possible in the UK, but land is expensive and it would mean a big mortgage and many hours at work, and that is not what we want.

But my reasons go further and deeper than lifestyle and climate… I want to share with my children and my spouse, the culture I grew up with. I want them to experience all those things that do not fit in a two or three week holiday, all those intangible but so important things about a culture that you only know when you stay in a place long enough.

People tell us that to go in holiday is not the same as living in the country… We  know that! I also know that it’s very easy to romanticize when one is far away. But here’s the thing, we don’t want to regret, in a few years, not trying. We don’t want to choose the easiest option without trying for what we think it might be better for us as a family. And we specially want to experience it for ourselves. We want to be the ones to decide, by experience, not by what other people tell us.

PT

No próximo ano vamos para Portugal. Eu não estava a pensar em escrever no blog, sobre uma coisa que ainda demora muito tempo para acontecer, mas no outro dia li um post que basicamente descrevia o estilo de vida que eu anseio há tanto tempo. Juntamente com uma conversa que eu tive com o meu pai, estimulou-me a escrever isto agora, e porque não?

Esta é uma decisão que foi tomada pela nossa familia. Eu tenho as minhas razões e o Paul tem as deles; no entanto eu não vou falar por ele, por isso só vou escrevo sobre as minhas.

Andamos a planear isto há muitos anos, aliàs, quando nos conheçemos, há dez anos atrás, já falavamos em ir para Portugal; mas primeiro tivemos que aprender a poupar…

Eu quero viver mais perto da natureza, com a natureza, sentir o seu pulsar, usar o sol  como fonte de energia, plantar e criar a nossa comida e viver uma vida simples. É que durantes estes anos todos que andamos a simplificar a nossa vida e aquilo que escolhemos ter, eu apercebi-me que eu sou mais feliz quando tenho menos, não mais.

É claro que isto também seria possivel no Reino Unido, há muitas pessoas a faze-lo, mas para mim, eu preferia viver sem sentir frio a maior parte do tempo. Eu sinto falta do calor, de me sentar lá fora à noite a ouvir os sons da noite e a olhar para as estrelas (essas são umas das minhas recordações favoritas). Eu quero que as minhas crianças comam tomates, melões e melancias da planta, como eu fiz em criança. Apanhar limões, laranjas, figos e pêssegos das árvores, como eu fiz em criança. Eu quero que eles sejam livres de tempo e espaço para esplorarem e brincarem. Mais uma vez, isto também seria possivel no Reino Unido, mas aqui a terra é cara e teriamos que ter um empréstimo e trabalhar fora de casa muitas horas, e isso não é o que nós queremos.

Mas as minhas razões sãomais profundas do que o estilo de vida ou o clima… Eu quero partilhar com as minhas crianças e o meu marido, a cultura com que eu cresci. Eu quero que eles sitam e vivam todas as aquelas coisas que não cabem numas férias de duas ou três semanas, todas as aquelas coisas intângiveis mas muito importantes, sobre uma cultura, que só se conhece quando passamos muito tempo num lugar.

As pessoas dizem que ir de férias não é o mesmo que viver no país… Nós sabemos de isso! Também sei que é muito facil romantizar quando estamso longe. Mas eu não quero me arrepender, daqui a uns anos, por não tentar. Nós não queremos escolher a opção mais facil sem pelo menos tentar-mos criar algo que nós pensamos ser melhor para a nossa familia. E especialmente queremos ser nós a decidir por nõs mesmos, não pelo que nos dizem, mas pela nossa experiência.

9 thoughts on “Why I want to move to Portugal / Porquê que eu quero ir para Portugal

  1. I wish you the best of lucks in this new adventure. Portugal is a country full of possibilities special for the goals you aim to. We have the sun and the heat and the chance to grow crops all year around. So have faith, take the jump and be happy!

    Like

  2. Listen to your heart, Susana! The life you describe sounds glorious and a truly beautiful way to raise your family. I can tell that you are already visualizing everything exactly the way you want it to be and so it shall be. The best of luck to you on this journey.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Yarn along | Susana C. Galli Blog

  4. Pingback: the land of wishes

  5. Pingback: rag rug | the land of wishes

  6. Pingback: the land of wishes

  7. Pingback: shop update | the land of wishes

Leave a Reply

