herbarium

It’s probably about three years since I took a bigger interest in foraging and plant identification. Since then I have learnt a lot, but there is always something that I feel is amiss, the fact that I know all these names in English but not in Portuguese. I have decided to make an online Herbarium  so that I can learn the names of the plants in Portuguese, and expand my knowledge.

wild garlic

Wild garlic, ramsons (Allium ursinum)

PT: alho-selvagem, alho-dos-ursos

Edible, not found in mediterranean regions.

Juniper

Juniper (Juniperus)

PT: zimbros, sabinas, juníperos

Edible berries, can be used fresh or dried to flavor dishes and is the main ingredient in Gin

Cow berry

Cow berry

Cowberry, Lingonberry

I couldn’t find a name in Portuguese presumably because it can’t be found there. I saw plenty in the Cairngorms, where I became acquainted with it.

Edible berries.

ragwort

ragwort leave

Ragwort (jacobaea vulgaris)

 PT: erva-de-são João, mija-cão, Tasna, Tasneira

Poisoning to cattle and horse but very good for pollinators and other insects.

4 thoughts on “herbarium

  1. I wonder if there’s any of this Ragwort here in New Zealand. If they’re good for pollinators going to search for it since I’m starting some beekeeping and planting flowers for bees as well.

    Like

  2. Yes, done some fast reading on the native plants before but I was curious about this one and just made a research.It´s´s not native and actually farmers have to destroy if they have it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

